Difference Between Locking and Logout?

Difference Between Locking and Logout?

I use Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.

By presing Ctrl+Alt+Del, I logout from my user session for a lunch break, then all the applications running are vanished and not available on my re-log-in again.

What is happening?

1 Answer

Logging out means that all applications quit(work is not saved) and your user session ends.

Locking, on the other hand, simply means that you have to enter your password to 'unlock' your computer. Any applications you have running will still be there when you get back.

Usually, Ubuntu will give you both options when you press Ctrl+Alt+Del. Select lock if you wish to keep any unsaved data.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

James H. Sterling
Author

James H. Sterling

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.