Upon connecting an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad to iTunes through USB for the first time, a prompt pops up asking you to confirm access to the iOS device. The same prompt appears when another device is attempting to access the files of your iOS device for the first time, or just periodically as a safety measure.
But what if you accidentally trusted a computer? Is there an easy way to untrust it? Prior to iOS 8, you needed to reset an iOS device to its factory settings in order to remove all trusted connections.
But there is a more elegant way of doing this now. In this tutorial, we’re going to cover untrusting computers and devices you trusted from your iPhone or iPad.
What’s a trusted device?
A trusted device can access the files and settings of your iOS device, import photos, access movies and videos, contacts and other items. The data stored on your iOS device isn’t exposed before you enter your passcode, if any, and choose to trust the connected computer or device.
If you choose not to trust the connected computer you will still be able to charge your device through a USB cable but the computer won’t be permitted to access any content on your iPhone or iPad.
Things to know before untrusting devices
The below method of untrusting devices will reset all location and privacy settings on your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad so you’ll need to recreate them afterwards. Though a tad clunky, this workaround is more user-friendly versus resetting the entire device to its factory settings like on iOS editions prior to iOS 8.
Another small catch: untrusting a computer from your iOS device will also reset the Trust This Computer alert on that device for all computers it has connected to.
Now, let’s get to it.