Now more than ever, it’s important to curate what pops up on your social media feeds. Here’s how to delete Facebook posts from your Timeline one by one or in bulk.
Facebook is all too keen to remind you of the past. Remember that concert you went to three years ago? That person you friended nine years ago? That photo you snapped on vacation? No worries; Facebook will make sure you never forget.
But now more than ever, it’s important to curate what pops up on your social media feeds, lest a potential employer or date stumble upon an ill-advised photo, comment, or like.
If you’re sick of cringing every time you log into Facebook, it might be time to rid your account of aging memes and reminders of your 2008-era frosted tips phase. You don’t have to nuke your entire account, though. Here’s a more civilized solution for social media cleanup.
Review Your Facebook Profile
First, it may be informative to see what your profile looks like to people who aren’t on your friends list. Go to your Facebook profile and click the View As “eye” icon, which will display your profile as it looks to someone who is not a friend. You can do the same thing on mobile by navigating to your profile, tapping the ellipsis and selecting View As.
Delete a Facebook Post
If you see only one or two posts you want to delete, Facebook makes it easy to axe them one at a time. To do this on desktop or mobile, go to your profile, click the ellipsis icon, and select Activity Log. This will show you every action you, or another user, has taken on your Timeline, including reactions, shares, comments, tags, and posts. Tap Filter (desktop) or Filters (mobile) to select which kinds of posts you want to see. When you come across something you want to remove, tap or click the ellipsis to delete or remove a reaction or tag.