How do I create a drop down list in Excel with multiple dependents?
How to create a multiple dependent dropdown in Excel
- Type the entries for the drop–down lists.
- Create named ranges.
- Make the first (main) drop–down list.
- Create the dependent drop–down list.
- Add a third dependent drop–down list (optional)
How do you create a dependent dropdown?
Add the Dependent Drop Down
- On the DataEntry sheet, select cell C3.
- On the Ribbon, click the Data tab, then click Data Validation..
- From the Allow drop-down list, choose List.
- In the Source box, type an equal sign and INDIRECT function, referring to the first data cell in the Produce Type column:
- Click OK.
How do I create a dynamic dependent list in Excel?
To make your primary drop-down list, configure an Excel Data Validation rule in this way:
- Select a cell in which you want the dropdown to appear (D3 in our case).
- On the Data tab, in the Data Tools group, click Data Validation.
- In the Data Validation dialog box, do the following: Under Allow, select List.
How do I create a unique drop down list in Excel?
Create drop down list
- Select Sheet1.
- Select cell D5.
- Click Data tab.
- Click Data validation button.
- Click “Data validation”
- Select List in the “Allow:” window.
- Type =uniqueproduct in the “Source:” window.
- Click OK!
How do I create a unique drop down list?
Click on the cell where you want the dropdown list to be. Go to Data > Data Validation. In the Validation criteria, select List. Highlight the cells with the unique values ($D$8:$D$17) as the Source.
How do I create a unique list in Excel?
Method #3: Advanced Filter
- Click the Advanced Filter button on the Data tab of the Ribbon.
- Select the “Copy to another location” radio button.
- Select the “List range”. The range/column that contains the duplicate values.
- Select the “Copy to” range.
- Click the “Unique records only” checkbox.
- Click the OK button.
How do you add a unique function in Excel?
Tips:
- If you format the range of names as an Excel table, then the formula will automatically update when you add or remove names.
- If you want to sort the list of names, you can add the SORT function: =SORT(UNIQUE(B2:B12&” “&A2:A12))
How do I create a unique function in Excel 2016?
UNIQUE Function for Excel 2016 | The Excel 2016 does not provide the UNIQUE function but we can create one. This UDF UNIQUE function returns all unique values from the list.
Why don’t I have the unique function in Excel?
Currently the UNIQUE function is only available with Office 365 subscriptions. Excel 2019, Excel 2016, Excel 2013 and earlier do not support dynamic array formulas, so the UNIQUE function is not available in these versions.
How do you create a unique function in Excel 2013?
Method 1: replace the current column
- Select the column of data.
- Open the ‘DATA’ ribbon.
- Click on the ‘Remove Duplicates’ button.
- If your column has a header, click the ‘My data has headers’ tick box.
- Click ‘OK’
- The original column will now be replace with only the unique values.
Is there a unique function in Excel?
The Excel UNIQUE function returns a list of unique values in a list or range. Values can be text, numbers, dates, times, etc. array – Range or array from which to extract unique values.
How do I add a filter in Excel 2013?
- Select the Data tab, then click the Filter command. A drop-down arrow will appear in the header cell for each column.
- Click the drop-down arrow for the column you want to filter.
- The Filter menu will appear.
- The Custom AutoFilter dialog box will appear.
- The data will be filtered by the selected text filter.
What is unique function in Excel?
The Excel UNIQUE function can extract a list of distinct values, or a list of values that only occur once, i.e. unique values. It can return a unique or distinct list from one column or from multiple columns.
How do you use the Countif function?
Use COUNTIF, one of the statistical functions, to count the number of cells that meet a criterion; for example, to count the number of times a particular city appears in a customer list. In its simplest form, COUNTIF says: =COUNTIF(Where do you want to look?, What do you want to look for?)
What is the sort function in Excel?
The Excel SORT function sorts the contents of a column, columns (range) or array in ascending or descending order. The syntax is: =SORT(array, [sort_index], [sort_order], [by_col]) array is the range or array containing the values you want sorted. sort_index is optional and indicates the row or column to sort by.
How do I add a sort function in Excel?
Sorting levels
- Select a cell in the column you want to sort by.
- Click the Data tab, then select the Sort command.
- The Sort dialog box will appear.
- Click Add Level to add another column to sort by.
- Select the next column you want to sort by, then click OK.
- The worksheet will be sorted according to the selected order.
How do I add a sort function in Excel 2019?
To set an order on just one column, selected the column by clicking the letter label at the top. With the column selected, Excel gives you two buttons to either sort by ascending or descending values. The two buttons to the left of the “Sort” button shown in the image above.
How do I automatically sort dates in Excel?
How to sort by date in Excel
- In your spreadsheet, select the dates without the column header.
- On the Home tab, click Sort & Filter and choose Sort Oldest to Newest.
- The Sort Warning dialog box will appear. Leave the default Expand the selection option selected, and click Sort: