You may have noticed that there is no save option in the menus for iMovie. That is because your project is automatically saved to the computer hard drive as you work. When you are finished working on your iMovie project you can share it to a number of places, including your email, iTunes, and your external device.
Will my iMovie automatically save?
iMovie will autosave all of its data and assets (video, images, audio) into a library file called iMovie Library in the Movies folder of the computer you are working on for the day. Every time you make a change or add to your project in iMovie, your project will autosave.
Does iMovie automatically save if I force quit?
Answer: A: Answer: A: Every action (import, edit etc.) is saved as you work so force-quitting should at most affect an action that was not completed.