What happens to Instagram direct messages when you temporarily disable your account? You will not be able to access your Instagram direct messages while your account is deactivated, but as soon as you log back into your Instagram, all of your messages will be restored.
Does deactivating delete DMs?
Deactivation FAQs
During the 30-day deactivation period, your direct messages won't be deleted. When the deactivation period ends and your account is deleted, direct messages you've sent will also be deleted.
What happens when you temporarily disable Instagram?
If you temporarily disable your account, your profile, photos, comments and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. You can only disable your Instagram account from a computer or mobile browser.