Will Reinstalling Windows 10 Delete Files?

Will Reinstalling Windows 10 Delete Files?

A fresh, clean Windows 10 install will not delete user data files, but all applications need to be reinstalled on the computer after the OS upgrade. The old Windows installation will be moved into the “Windows. old” folder, and a new “Windows” folder will be created.

Will reinstalling Windows 10 erase my files?

Although you'll keep all of your files and software, the reinstallation will delete certain items such as custom fonts, system icons and Wi-Fi credentials. However, as part of the process, the setup will also create a Windows. old folder which should have everything from your previous installation.

How do I reinstall Windows 10 without losing files and programs?

Click “Troubleshoot” once you enter WinRE mode. Click “Reset this PC” in the following screen, leading you to the reset system window. Select “Keep my files” and click “Next” then “Reset.” Click “Continue” when a popup appears and prompts you to continue reinstalling the Windows 10 operating system.

Maya Lin-Takahashi
Author

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.