When you do a factory reset on your Android device, it erases all the data on your device. … Google introduced FRP in Android 5.0 Lollipop as an extra layer of security to prevent anyone from being able to reset and sell your device if lost or stolen.
Is factory resetting a phone safe?
When you start a factory reset, the process deletes the addresses of all of your local data. That means your data still resides on the device, but Android doesn’t know where to find it. Moreover, Android can’t overwrite this data. This lurking unallocated data can be problematic.
What happens if I do a factory reset on my Android?
A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account. … Connect your phone to Wi-Fi or your mobile network.