Contents
No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.
Will installing new macOS delete my files?
Reinstalling Mac OSX by booting into the Rescue drive partition (hold Cmd-R at boot) and selecting “Reinstall Mac OS” does not delete anything. It overwrites all system files in-place, but retains all your files and most preferences.
How do I update my Mac without losing data?
How to Update & Reinstall macOS Without Losing Data
- Start up your Mac from macOS Recovery. …
- Select “Reinstall macOS” from the Utilities Window and click “Continue”.
- Follow the onscreen instructions to select the hard drive you want to install the OS on and start the installation.
- Don’t put your Mac to sleep mode or close its lid during the installation.
19 февр. 2021 г.