Quick Answer: What Is Pattern in Illustrator?

Quick Answer: What Is Pattern in Illustrator?
Contents

To create a pattern, select the artwork that you would like to create the pattern from, and then choose Object > Pattern > Make. To edit an existing pattern, double-click the pattern in the pattern swatch, or select an object containing the pattern and choose Object > Pattern > Edit Pattern.

How do I use patterns in Illustrator?

Press the “V” key to quickly switch to the Selection tool. Click the shape to select it, then drag the shape you just drew into the Swatches panel. Notice that a new swatch appears. When you apply this to a selected object, it will automatically create a repeating pattern with the shape you just painted.

How do you make a pattern?

Define an image as a preset pattern

  1. Use the Rectangle Marquee tool on any open image to select an area to use as a pattern. Feather must be set to 0 pixels. Note that large images may become unwieldy.
  2. Choose Edit > Define Pattern.
  3. Enter a name for the pattern in the Pattern Name dialog box. Note:
Elena Rostova
Author

Elena Rostova

Elena Rostova holds a Master's degree in Public Health Journalism. She covers groundbreaking medical research, holistic wellness trends, mental health awareness, and nutritional science.