Does Reinstalling macOS Delete Data?

Does Reinstalling macOS Delete Data?
Contents

2 Answers. Reinstalling macOS from the recovery menu does not erase your data. However, if there is a corruption issue, your data may be corrupted as well, its really hard to tell. … Reinatalling the os alone does not erase data.

Can you reinstall macOS without losing data?

Option #1: Reinstall macOS without Losing Data From Internet Recovery. Click the Apple icon>Restart. Hold down the key combination: Command+R, you will see the Apple logo. Then choose “Reinstall macOS Big Sur” from utilities window and click “Continue”.

What happens if I reinstall macOS?

2 Answers. It does exactly what it says it does–reinstalls macOS itself. It only touches operating system files that are there in a default configuration, so any preference files, documents and applications that are either changed or not there in the default installer are simply left alone.

James H. Sterling
Author

James H. Sterling

James Sterling reports on renewable energy developments, climate policy, ecological conservation, and green tech innovations around the globe.