Programs and files will be removed: If you are running XP or Vista, then upgrading your computer to Windows 10 will remove all of your programs, settings and files. … Then, after the upgrade is done, you will be able to restore your programs and files on Windows 10.
Will upgrading to Windows 10 delete everything?
Upgrading to Windows 10 Pro will not delete your personal data. Before making changes to your computer, such as upgrading your operating system, you should always backup your files for safety.
Can I install Windows 10 without losing my programs?
By using Repair Install, you can choose to install Windows 10 while keeping all personal files, apps and settings, keeping personal files only, or keeping nothing. By using Reset This PC, you can do a fresh install to reset Windows 10 and keep personal files, or remove everything.