Since all your data is backed up when you temporarily disable your account, your DMs remain intact, just as they were the moment you hit the button. You cannot receive or send out DMs though once you temporarily disable your account.
What happens to DMs When you disable Instagram?
What happens to Instagram direct messages when you temporarily disable your account? You will not be able to access your Instagram direct messages while your account is deactivated, but as soon as you log back into your Instagram, all of your messages will be restored.
Does the chat get deleted after deactivating?
3 Answers. You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend's inbox just there won't be your profile picture and link to it.