Freeze columns and rows
Select the cell below the rows and to the right of the columns you want to keep visible when you scroll.Select View > Freeze Panes > Freeze Panes.
How do I lock specific rows?
Press the Keyboard Shortcut Ctrl + A to select all the cells of the sheet. Right click and choose Format cells. Go to the Protection tab and uncheck Locked option and click Ok. Now select only the cells or columns, rows that you want to protect.
How do I lock rows in Excel so they don’t move?
To freeze rows:
Select the row below the row(s) you want to freeze. In our example, we want to freeze rows 1 and 2, so we’ll select row 3. Click the View tab on the Ribbon.Select the Freeze Panes command, then choose Freeze Panes from the drop-down menu. The rows will be frozen in place, as indicated by the gray line.
How do I lock rows in Excel 2020?
How to freeze top row in Excel. To lock top row in Excel, go to the View tab, Window group, and click Freeze Panes > Freeze Top Row. This will lock the very first row in your worksheet so that it remains visible when you navigate through the rest of your worksheet.
Why can’t I freeze panes in Excel?
Causes of Excel Freeze Panes Not Working:
The causes of this issue are when your Excel worksheet is in the page layout view, when Windows protection is turned on and also when the Excel sheet is protected by the earlier versions of Excel. Because of all this issues, Excel Freeze Panes Not Work properly.
How do you lock cells from moving in Excel?
Steps to Lock Rows/Columns in Excel
Go to the View tab and click the Freeze Panes button.From the drop down menu select if you want the header row, the first row of data, or the header column, the first column of data to be frozen. I will select Freeze Top Row to lock the first row in place.That’s it!
How do I freeze selected rows and columns in Excel?
Select either Freeze Top Row or Freeze First Column.
To freeze several rows:
Select the row that is immediately beneath the last row you want frozen.From the View tab, Windows Group, click the Freeze Panes drop down and select Freeze Panes.Excel inserts a thin line to show you where the frozen pane begins.
How do I freeze multiple rows in Excel 2020?
To freeze multiple rows (starting with row 1), select the row below the last row you want frozen and click Freeze Panes. To freeze multiple columns, select the column to the right of the last column you want frozen and click Freeze Panes. Say you want to freeze the top four rows and leftmost three columns.
How do I freeze the first row and column in Excel?
To freeze the first row and column, open your Excel spreadsheet. Select cell B2. Then select the VIEW tab from the toolbar at the top of the screen and click on the Freeze Panes button in the Window group. Then click on the Freeze Panes option in the popup menu.
Can you protect workbook in Excel?
Select File > Info. Select the Protect Workbook box and choose Encrypt with Password. Enter a password in the Password box, and then select OK. Confirm the password in the Reenter Password box, and then select OK.
What are freeze panes in Excel?
The Excel Freeze Panes option allows you to lock your columns and/or rows so that when you scroll down or over to view the rest of your sheet, the column and/or row will remain on the screen.
How do I freeze a row in Excel 2019?
Select the row below the row you want to freeze.
To select a row, you need to select the entire row on the left side. With the row selected, click on the “View” tab at the top, select “Freeze Panes” and you’ll see several different options you can choose: “Freeze Panes” will freeze all rows above your selected row.