Google automatically tracks where you go with your devices, even if you don’t have a specific Google app open all the time (on iOS, you can opt to only have location services enabled while an app is running; more on that below). Shut this down completely by flipping the switch next to Location History to off.
Does Google always know my location?
If you use any Google app, your location and data history might be stored. Here’s how you can turn off location services and delete your location history.
How do I stop Google from tracking me?
How to stop Google tracking you
Go to and in the left-hand column, click on Activity Controls.On the next screen, toggle the Web & App Activity button off, and untick Include Chrome history and activity from sites, apps and devices that use Google services.
Google uses BSSID information from your WLAN Access Point to get an approximation of where you are located, even with GPS and WiFi turned off. Taken from “How does Google Maps estimate my location without GPS?”: Google and others like Apple and Skyhook build a Database which links WLAN BSSIDs to a geographic location.