Excel Collapse Rows

Excel Collapse Rows

This method of hiding unnecessary data is much more convenient – you can press either a button with the sign “+” or “-“, or Excel shortcut ”Alt A J/H” (clicking one after another in this case) to collapse or unfold the cells.

How do I make a group of rows collapsible in Excel?

First, select the rows that need to be grouped. Now press the shortcut key SHIFT + ALT + Right Arrow Key to group these rows. In the above, we have seen how to group the data and how to group row with expand and collapse option by using PLUS & MINUS icons.

How do I collapse rows in Excel 2020?

If we do not have a Pivot table, we can also collapse rows in Excel by selecting any cell in the group. Next, we will go to the Data Tab and select Hide detail in the Outline group.

How do you collapse rows in sheets?

To hide a row, right click on the row number on the left of the spreadsheet and choose Hide row. To hide multiple rows in a Google Spreadsheet, click on the first row and drag across the rows you wish to hide, or hold the Shift key and click on the last row you want to hide.

What does Alt G do?

Alt+G is a keyboard shortcut most often used to access the Design tab in the Microsoft PowerPoint Ribbon.

How do I group lines in Excel?

Select the data (including any summary rows or columns). On the Data tab, in the Outline group, click Group > Group Rows or Group Columns. Optionally, if you want to outline an inner, nested group — select the rows or columns within the outlined data range, and repeat step 3.

How do you make a collapsible section in sheets?

Group and Ungroup Rows in Google Sheets
(1) Select all rows with Jan-21, then in the menu, (2) go to Data, and click on (3) Group.In the new window beside the selection, click on Group rows 2 – 11. To collapse Jan-21, click the minus sign at the top of the outline bar for months.

Which Excel feature allows you to hide rows or columns with an easily visible expand collapse?

Groups and outlines allow you to quickly hide and unhide rows or columns in an Excel spreadsheet. The Groups feature creates row and column groupings in the Headings section of the worksheet. Each group can be expanded or collapsed with the click of a button.

Can you group and collapse tabs in Excel?

Press and hold down the Ctrl key, and click the worksheet tabs you want to group. Tip: If you want to group consecutive worksheets, click the first worksheet tab in the range, press and hold the Shift key, and click the last worksheet tab in the range.

Alexander Ross
Author

Alexander Ross

Alexander Ross has covered the video game industry for a decade, writing deep dives on game design, esports tournaments, VR developments, and gaming culture.