Freeze Multiple Rows in Excel

Freeze Multiple Rows in Excel

To freeze rows:
Select the row below the row(s) you want to freeze. In our example, we want to freeze rows 1 and 2, so we’ll select row 3. Click the View tab on the Ribbon.Select the Freeze Panes command, then choose Freeze Panes from the drop-down menu. The rows will be frozen in place, as indicated by the gray line.

How do I freeze multiple rows in Excel 2020?

To freeze multiple rows (starting with row 1), select the row below the last row you want frozen and click Freeze Panes. To freeze multiple columns, select the column to the right of the last column you want frozen and click Freeze Panes. Say you want to freeze the top four rows and leftmost three columns.

Why can’t I freeze multiple rows in Excel?

Select the row immediately below the rows you want to lock. As before, clicking on any cell in the row and pressing “Shift” and the spacebar will do the trick. Click on the “View” tab at the top and select the “Freeze Panes” command. From the resulting dropdown list, select the “Freeze Panes” command.

Can you freeze multiple rows and columns in Excel at the same time?

To lock more than one row or column, or to lock both rows and columns at the same time, choose the View tab, and then click Freeze Panes. You will want your cursor to be below the row(s) you want to freeze and to the right of any column(s) you want to freeze.

How do I freeze 4 rows in Excel?

Freeze columns and rows
Select the cell below the rows and to the right of the columns you want to keep visible when you scroll.Select View > Freeze Panes > Freeze Panes.

How do I freeze the first 5 rows in Excel?

Freeze columns and rows in Excel
Select the row below the row(s) you want to freeze (select row 6, if you want to freeze rows 1 to 5).On the View tab, click Freeze Panes > Freeze Panes.

How do I freeze the first 3 rows in Excel 2016?

To freeze rows:
Select the row below the row(s) you want to freeze. In our example, we want to freeze rows 1 and 2, so we’ll select row 3.On the View tab, select the Freeze Panes command, then choose Freeze Panes from the drop-down menu.The rows will be frozen in place, as indicated by the gray line.

How do I freeze multiple rows in Excel 2019?

With the row selected, click on the “View” tab at the top, select “Freeze Panes” and you’ll see several different options you can choose: “Freeze Panes” will freeze all rows above your selected row.

How do I freeze multiple rows in Excel 2021?

How to freeze multiple rows in Excel
Tap on the cell below the rows you want to freeze. With this action, you will indicate the software a border to which you need to freeze the rows.Go to the “View” tab.Click the “Freeze Panes” tool and select the topmost option.

How do I freeze multiple rows in sheets?

Freeze or unfreeze rows or columns
On your computer, open a spreadsheet in Google Sheets.Select a row or column you want to freeze or unfreeze.At the top, click View. Freeze.Select how many rows or columns to freeze.

How do I freeze multiple rows in Excel 2010?

To freeze rows:
Select the row below the rows you want frozen. For example, if you want rows 1 and 2 to always appear at the top of the worksheet even as you scroll, then select row 3. Click the View tab.Click the Freeze Panes command. Select Freeze Panes. A black line appears below the rows that are frozen in place.

Why is Excel not freezing the panes that I select?

The causes of this issue are when your Excel worksheet is in the page layout view, when Windows protection is turned on and also when the Excel sheet is protected by the earlier versions of Excel. Because of all this issues, Excel Freeze Panes Not Work properly.

How do I freeze both the first row and column in Excel on a Mac?

To freeze the first row and column, open your Excel spreadsheet. Select cell B2. Then select the Layout tab from the toolbar at the top of the screen. Click on the Freeze Panes button and click on the Freeze Panes option in the popup menu.

What is the shortcut key to freeze rows and columns in Excel?

Here are the shortcuts for freezing rows/columns:
To freeze the top row: ALT + W + F + R. Note that the top row gets fixed.To freeze the first column: ALT + W + F + C. Note that the left-most column gets fixed.

How do you lock a range in a formula Excel?

Here are the steps to Lock Cells with Formulas:
With the cells with formulas selected, press Control + 1 (hold the Control key and then press 1).In the format cells dialog box, select the Protection tab.Check the ‘Locked’ option.Click ok.

Maya Lin-Takahashi
Author

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.