Locate the Source Data
Follow these steps, to find the source data for a pivot table: Select any cell in the pivot table. On the Ribbon, under the PivotTable Tools tab, click the Analyze tab (in Excel 2010, click the Options tab). In the Data group, click the top section of the Change Data Source command..
Similarly, what characteristics are required in the source data to create a pivot table?
- The data is housed in an Excel table or covered by a named range.
- A contiguous data range with headers.
- A list or table with values in it.
One may also ask, why is pivot table not showing all data? Show all the data in a Pivot Field Right-click an item in the pivot table field, and click Field Settings. In the Field Settings dialog box, click the Layout & Print tab. Check the 'Show items with no data' check box. Click OK.
Also know, how do I organize data in a pivot table?
To create an Excel pivot table,
- Open your original spreadsheet and remove any blank rows or columns.
- Make sure each column has a meaningful heading.
- Verify your columns are properly formatted for their data type.
- Click any populated cell.
- Highlight your data range.
- Click the Insert tab.
- Select the PivotTable button from the Tables group.
How do you select data source in a pivot table?
Follow these steps, to find the source data for a pivot table:
- Select any cell in the pivot table.
- On the Ribbon, under the PivotTable Tools tab, click the Analyze tab (in Excel 2010, click the Options tab).
- In the Data group, click the top section of the Change Data Source command.
Related Question Answers
How do you structure data in Excel?
Steps
- Select the cell in the upper-left corner of the dataset. Note: this will generally be the first cell in the second or third row of the Excel sheet since the first row typically contains the data set title.
- Go to the Formulas tab on the Ribbon.
- Click the Define Name option from the Defined Names group.
How do you create a pivot table?
To create a PivotTable:
- Select the table or cells (including column headers) containing the data you want to use.
- From the Insert tab, click the PivotTable command.
- The Create PivotTable dialog box will appear.
- A blank PivotTable and Field List will appear on a new worksheet.