How Do I Delete Remote Repository?

How Do I Delete Remote Repository?
Deleting remote branches
To delete a remote branch, you can't use the git branch command. Instead, use the git push command with --delete flag, followed by the name of the branch you want to delete. You also need to specify the remote name ( origin in this case) after git branch .

.

In this regard, how do you delete a repository?

Deleting a repository

  1. On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.
  2. Under your repository name, click Settings.
  3. Under Danger Zone, click Delete this repository.
  4. Read the warnings.
  5. To verify that you're deleting the correct repository, type the name of the repository you want to delete.

Additionally, how do I get rid of origin remote already exists? You can do that with this command:

  1. git remote set-url origin
  2. git remote add origin
  3. git remote remove origin.
  4. origin (fetch)
  5. git remote set-url origin

Also to know, how do I delete a local and remote branch?

Steps for deleting a branch: Simply do git push origin --delete to delete your remote branch ONLY, add the name of the branch at the end and this will delete and push it to remote at the same time Also, git branch -D , which simply delete the local branch ONLY!

How do I get rid of upstream remote?

Ensure the upstream URLs point to the main repository, such as MicrosoftDocs or Azure. If you made a mistake, you can remove the remote value. To remove the upstream value, run the command git remote remove upstream .

Related Question Answers

How do I delete a git repository?

Delete a Git repo from the web
  1. Select Repos, Files.
  2. From the repo drop-down, select Manage repositories.
  3. Select the name of the repository from the Repositories list, choose the menu, and then choose Delete repository.
  4. Confirm the deletion of the repository by typing the repo's name and selecting Delete.

How do I delete a bitbucket repository?

Delete a Folder and File
  1. In your Bitbucket repository on the left, select Source .
  2. On the right, select My Folder .
  3. Select My File.
  4. On the right, select the down arrow beside Edit and select Delete .
  5. Commit the change.
  6. In your Bitbucket repository on the left, select Source .
Maya Lin-Takahashi
Author

Maya Lin-Takahashi

Maya is a hardware enthusiast who tests and reviews smart home devices, smartphones, wearables, and audio gear. She focuses on practical consumer value and build quality.