Can You Move a Shared Dropbox Folder?

Can You Move a Shared Dropbox Folder?
Yes, it is. You can move and rename a shared folder without it affecting the owner or any other members of that folder. You just can't move it into another shared folder (you can't nest shared folders). You may see notifications that you have left the share.

.

Simply so, what happens if I move a shared folder in Dropbox?

You can rename or move your shared folders just like you would any other folder on your hard drive or via the website. Even if you rename it, the folder will still remain shared. However, changing the name of the shared folder or its location will not change its name or location in the Dropbox of other members.

Furthermore, how do I save a shared folder in Dropbox? To add a shared folder to your Dropbox account through the Sharing tab:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Find the shared folder you want to access. Click the … (ellipsis) icon next to the folder name and select Add.

Correspondingly, can I move Dropbox to another drive?

You can move your Dropbox folder to any location on your hard drive or an external hard drive using the Dropbox desktop app.

Why can't I see shared files in Dropbox?

If the Dropbox app is running, make sure that your computer is syncing. If you can't see files that you expect to see in a shared folder, then you may have unintentionally deleted the folder. Check that the folder you're looking at is still shared: Sign in to dropbox.com.

Related Question Answers

What is the difference between sharing a link and a folder on Dropbox?

If you need someone to be able to see your files, but not edit them, you can send them a link to that file, or you can give them view-only permissions. When you share a link with someone, they can view the file or folder on dropbox.com. You can share these links with anyone, even if they don't have a Dropbox account.

What happens if I delete a shared folder in Dropbox?

What happens when I delete a shared folder? If you delete a file from a shared folder, any member of the folder can restore the file. If you own the shared folder: After you permanently delete it, the folder is deleted from the Dropbox accounts of all members and their access is permanently removed.
David Miller
Author

David Miller

David Miller brings 15 years of experience in global economics, personal finance strategy, and market dynamics. He specializes in turning complex economic trends into actionable insights for everyday readers.