Rebooting the device will just turn it off and on, and won't actually reset/restore the software like you really want, which in this case would erase all your custom apps and delete any lingering personal information.
Do you lose data when rebooting?
Rebooting is the same as restarting, and close enough to powering off and then turning off your device. The purpose is to close and reopen the operating system. Resetting, on the other hand, means taking the device back to the state in which it left the factory. Resetting wipes all your personal data.
How do I reboot without losing data?
- Navigate to Settings, Backup and reset and then Reset settings.
- If you have an option that says 'Reset settings' this is possibly where you can reset the phone without losing all your data. ...
- Back up your device before tapping either of them, just in case.