The prefetch folder is a subfolder of the Windows system folder. The prefetch folder is self-maintaining, and there's no need to delete it or empty its contents. If you empty the folder, Windows and your programs will take longer to open the next time you turn on your computer.
What is prefetch used for?
Cache prefetching is a technique used by computer processors to boost execution performance by fetching instructions or data from their original storage in slower memory to a faster local memory before it is actually needed (hence the term 'prefetch').
Is deleting temp files safe?
Can I delete the temporary files on my computer? It's completely safe to delete temporary files from your computer. It's easy to delete the files and then restart your PC for normal use. The job is usually done automatically by your computer, but it doesn't mean that you can't perform the task manually.