When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn't gone—it's just hidden. ... To delete your Facebook account, follow this link to the Delete My Account page.
What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?
When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won't know that you've deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.
How long can you deactivate your Facebook account?
If it's been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information.