Private browsing is a privacy feature in some web browsers. When operating in such a mode, the browser creates a temporary session that is isolated from the browser's main session and user data.
What does a private browser do?
When you use Private Browsing, you can visit websites without creating a search history in Safari. Private Browsing protects your private information and blocks some websites from tracking your search behavior. Safari won't remember the pages you visit, your search history, or your AutoFill information.
Is private browsing mode really private?
When you visit a website in private-browsing mode, your browser won't store any history, cookies, form data – or anything else. ... It also prevents websites from using cookies stored on your computer to track your visits. However, your browsing is not completely private and anonymous when using private-browsing mode.