Should I Delete Backups?

Should I Delete Backups?

A: The short answer is no—deleting your old iPhone backup from iCloud is completely safe and won't affect any of the data on your actual iPhone. ... You can remove any device backup stored in iCloud by going into your iOS Settings app and selecting iCloud, Storage & Backup and then Manage Storage.

What happens if I delete my Backup?

If you delete iCloud backup, your photos, messages, and other app data will be permanently removed. Your music files, movies, and the apps themselves are not in iCloud backups. You can download them on iPhone any time you want.

Does deleting a Backup free up space?

Then click or tap Manage Backups to see all of the backups that are currently saved to your iCloud account. Delete the ones you don't need any longer, and you'll instantly free up storage space.

Marcus Vance
Author

Marcus Vance

Marcus Vance is a cybersecurity auditor and technology writer dedicated to educating the public about online safety, data privacy regulations, enterprise security, and emerging cyber threats.