The iPhone is a popular cell phone manufactured by Apple. Apple tends to release new versions of the iPhone on a regular basis. ... Before you give up your iPhone, you will want to format it, which involves resetting the phone and deleting all of its data. This can be done by using the built-in iPhone settings.
How do I completely format my iPhone?
Factory reset your iPhone
- In "Settings," scroll down and tap "General."
- At the bottom of the "General" page, tap "Reset." ...
- To factory reset your iPhone, select "Erase All Content and Settings." ...
- You'll be prompted to enter your passcode, then your device will ask you to confirm that you want to erase everything.
What happens when you format your iPhone?
Resetting your iPhone will remove your apps, your contacts, your photos, your preferred settings, and other information stored on your phone so the new owner can start fresh.